life of a student

It’s strange being a fulltime student again. In 2006 I went into part-time studies to get my feet wet, and it’s helped me to transition into this new phase of my life. But even so, I’m having to adjust to a very different life from the one that I’ve been living for the past several years. I’m being reintroduced to simple things like carrying a backpack, riding the bus, long hours of (manditory) reading, and sitting in lectures. Suddenly I have all this “time” but I have to excercise discipline to use it well. But the hardest adjustment is to live in a unfamiliar home. I have no issues with my landlords, but this loss of place, or space to call my own, is greater than I first expected. And it’s not really a space that I want to “hang out” in, which is good because it’ll force me to study in places with less distractions like TV or internet. But it’s given me an idea of how important or meaningful a home is. The saying is true, you don’t know what you have until you lose it. I think a lot of us earnestly desire a place to call our own, whether it’s property or position…. if we’re not busy just trying to survive.

Well my purpose for the time being is to be a student, and it’s helping me to accept these circumstances. I’ve had two days of classes so far. I start at 8AM on Tues, Wed, Thurs. Hebrew, History, and Christian Thought and Culture (CTC) is on Tuesdays & Thursdays. CTC Tutorial and Old Testament (OT) are on Wednesdays… plus evening CTC films. Yes, we get to watch movies for credit. Whoot! I’m off to memorize the Hebrew alphabet and grab some dinner before our Wed evening session.

Shalom!

One thought on “life of a student

  1. hey di…

    loss of place …. hmmm, i can relate to that problem … i would like to give you some good advice but i haven’t figured it out yet myself 😛

    i know you’ll be fine…. it’ll just take a little time.

Leave a Reply

