Yo yo, here we go!

Today is the first day of my last year at Regent.

It already feels different. Some of my good friends are gone (graduated or otherwise), I have fewer classes, there are new faces, and I can’t renew my bloody gym pass (we’re just affiliated students, only real UBC students get the discount). Has it already been two years? I’m finally feeling settled and more balanced as a human being, now I’m being tossed again as I hurdle towards graduation and the impending reality of “the real world.” I don’t want to think about it, but it’s there in the back of my mind. It lies there, while thoughts of the present rub against it like our house cat rubs himself on the living room rug. Except there’s no purring here… and definitely no one is scratching my back.

Well, my first class looks promising and practical. It’s on the Sacraments (Lord’s Supper, Baptism, etc). Good for me (and for the Church) to learn… probably doesn’t mean anything at all for non-church folk. It has got me thinking about what cultural symbols we have left in society. Symbols that we would defend and connect emotionally with. The flag? Hmm, it does hold a bit of power when traveling (yes, i preferred being identified as a Canadian rather than American). Wedding ring? Mmmm, important for married folk, not so important for others. Rainbow colors hold meaning for the LGBT community. Oh oh, I guess there’s the engineer’s ring. Seriously, I’m having a hard time thinking of symbols we (mostly) all honor. Wait wait… hockey team logos! Hmmm, does it mean anything if we’re a culture bereft of cultural symbols?

K, I’m thinking too hard for a monday night. It’s because I can’t relax at home because my 97 year old landlady is hosting dinner. She’s been cleaning and cooking all day. 97. Me: 31 and sitting on my ass. I’m pathetic.

Sigh, I’ll go back to reading on Baptism or waste time checking Facebook. Yup, let the semester begin!

One thought on “Yo yo, here we go!

Leave a Reply

