En Route

Well, I’m on the way. I’m currently sitting in Ottawa’s International Airport, waiting to board my next flight, to Frankfurt. From there, I fly to Tel Aviv – I should be arriving around 3PM local time. My seat on the flight to Tel Aviv is still yet to be confirmed… hmmmm.

The excitement hasn’t kicked in yet. Maybe because I’m not out of the country yet. Or because I’ve been watching too many documentaries. [Side note, it’s warm and humid here! I should get used to this]

I have yet to talk to someone who has gone to Israel and regretted it. There are some cringing-Christian-tours-stories, but otherwise people love going to the Holy Land. I’m not quite understanding it now, but I’m sure I’ll realize it when I’m there. But it’s sobering to know that I’m entering a place that is being  fought over, a place where the wounds and bloodshed go deep.

I didn’t read any historical books or political analysis on the region, except for One Palestine, Complete: Jews and Arabs under the British Mandate – which I skimmed because my brain couldn’t keep up with all the facts and figures. But I came across one memoir, In Search of Fatima – a Palestinian account, and a haunting fiction, To the End of the Land – written  by an Israeli author who lost his own son in war. For those not faint-of-heart, there’s a gripping documentary, Occupation 101,  available on youtube.

On the brighter side, I found a Second Cup here! Yes!!! A little piece of home before leaving. A friend asked what I’m bringing to remind me of home. I hadn’t thought of that before, mostly because I’m away only for 3 months. Then again, it’s 3 months. But it got me thinking and I realize that music does that for me.. which is convenient because I would only need my ipod. And what will I be listening to to remind me of Vancouver/Canada?

Off the top of my head, I have two “soundtracks” to Vancouver, albums that I love driving or walking to while roaming Lotus Land. The first is Madeleine Peyroux’s Careless Love [awesome for a rainy, grey day]. And more recently I discovered The Paper Raincoat [They’re from NYC but the music fits right in]. Other notables are Hey Ocean! and The No Sh*t Shirleys [both local groups]. I’m sure you wanted to know all that. What do you take with you to remind you of home?

Anyways, it’s far too early to be thinking about what to think about when I’m homesick. It’s been a busy last week of good-byes, see-you-again-soons, and long-distant chats. I’ll try my best to take you with me through my blog [so thanks for reading].

Ok, I should go find some real food before the next flight…. see you in Frankfurt.

Leave a Reply

