Day 5- pt II

Somewhere in there are the graves of the OT prophets Haggai, Zachariah, and Malachi:


Jewish Cemetary (approx 3000 yrs old)

My favorite church so far:

null

Church of Agony (Gethsemane)

Unlike other churches, this one is dark and dimly lit by what little light is filtered through by the windows and entrance. The pics are a bit deceiving because my camera adjusted for the low lighting.

The olive trees are actually carbon dated to back to Jesus’ time

Temple Mount

At the Mt of Olives I met a couple of English-speaking women also staying for the summer. Turns out they met at a local congregation that I was planning to visit.

After a full day in the sun, walking up and down hills, and being surrounded by people, I was ready to go home.. to our quiet spot on the hill. Took about an hour by bus, but I made it.

The next day (which is today) was spent mostly on cleaning. In the evening I joined the Sisters in prayer and did a short bible study with Sister A who explained the Jewish roots of Pentecost. The latest news is that one of the Brothers discovered a 1948 bomb on the hillside.

Where am I???

5 thoughts on “Day 5- pt II

  1. Wow, beautiful pics!
    Although, I do have to say that the Mt. of Olives looks a little anticlimactic…

  2. wow, what an opportunity! I love seeing the pictures of the market!

    I have 5 weeks off in Dec/Jan…maybe I should go to Israel…

  3. I agree, that’s a beautiful church. I’ve always loved seeing churches with blues and golds. I think I’m going to cry when I finally see those trees.

Leave a Reply

