Day 7

Wow,  I’ve been here for a week now. It’s the end of the day and I have about an hour to spew out some thoughts before going to bed. Just as my body has adjusted to the time change, I will be awake at ungodly hours for the next two days:

Tonight is Shavuot, one of the 3 major Jewish pilgrim festivals celebrated every year. It marks the giving of the Torah after the Exodus, 50 days after the Passover. The Greek for”50th day” is Pentecost – which in Christian tradition marks the giving of the Holy Spirit.

So we leave here at 4AM to go to the Western Wall and watch the celebration. Not quite the all-night Torah study that some would do. We’ll come back for breakfast… I have cleaning to do, then reception duty.

Tomorrow night I plan to meet with friends of a friend (M2 – your contacts!), and we’re watching part of or all of Game 4. How… I’m not sure. Apparently there is an American-style sports bar here, but we may just find a high-speed connection instead. Game time is 3am. Thursday will be my day of sleep 😛

******

This morning at 7:15 was Mass, the only time of the week that all the Sisters and Brothers gather. It was in French, and some of the songs were sung in Hebrew. As I was trying to follow along in the English Missive and Lectionary, my mind was trying to process the fact that I was in a French Catholic Mass… in the Holy Land.

I found out later that the bomb that was found in the garden, and not the hillside, was excavated by the army, taken away, and detonated. Brother R was with them and didn’t return until 3 or 4 AM.

At lunch, I met two volunteers from Ecce Homo and one of them is from Victoria! Small world, especially in Jerusalem. After hearing the work they have to do, I’m immensely grateful that I’m in Ein Kerem. Because it’s located on the Via Dolorsa, Ecce Homo is constantly full of Christian pilgrims. The volunteers there are busy! In contrast, my reception duty today was quiet and uneventful, other than a couple of reservation errors [not done by me, thankfully].

Well, my time is up! In case you’re wondering, the wi-fi at the convent isn’t the greatest. Skyping is sketch, and watching play-off hockey is out of the question. Uploading photos is a pain so they’re limited. Thank you for following along on this blog. I’m updating regularly mostly to record my time here (otherwise it will never get put down), but it helps to know that friends are reading.

Shalom and laila tov!

3 thoughts on “Day 7

  1. Oh the food (that will be another post)! The cook here is fantastic….. and Melodie was right about the humus.

Leave a Reply

