Prayers while on retreat…

O my Lord- wash me,

Wash me of this relationship

Wash me of the pain of it

Wash me of the hurt of it

Wash me of the disappointment of it

Wash me of the resentment of it

Wash me of the attachment to it

Wash me of the hurtful memories of it

That come back in quietness and in prayer

That come back in the silent night hours

I give myself into your hands, Lord

Do for me what I cannot do for myself

Heal me, Lord

Under your healing touch

Hour by hour, and day by day

I shall be set free

 – author unknown

Write the wrongs that are done to you in sand, but write the good things that happen to you on a piece of marble. Let go of all emotions such as resentment and retaliation, which diminish you, and hold onto the emotions, such as gratitude and joy, which increase you.

– Arabic proverb

(A prayer for my enemy)

May you be happy

May you be free

May you be loving

May you be loved…

May every fiber of your being resonate to the glory

            To which God calls you

May you be successful in every endeavor

May you experience the fullness of peace in body and soul

May you know the Lord in all his goodness

May you forgive every transgression

I forgive you with all my heart and soul

May you know what it means to be a child of God

May you experience the glory of possessing the kingdom of God

May you live and walk in peace and fellowship

            With all of God’s creatures

May every blessing be yours

May goodness and love how itself in everything

            That you do and all that is done to you

May you be one with all of God’s creation

May you experience the blessings of God’s grace for all eternity!

– Father William A. Meninger

2 thoughts on “Prayers while on retreat…

  1. If you are getting hits from Houston it’s because I regularly re-visit this exact post and work thru it. At least once a month. It has profoundly ministered to me…

Leave a Reply

